AQA Level 3 Extended Certificate in Applied Science

Exam board: AQA
Guidance: Grade 44 or above in combined science or 4, 4, 4 in triple science, plus three additional GCSEs at grade 4 or above, including English and maths.
Course Start Date: 09/2021
Course length: 2 Years
Course description:

This course has been tailored to meet the needs of students who enjoy science and want to take their studies further at KS5 but don’t want, or would struggle with, a final exam only A-level in the subject. There is a mixture of biology, chemistry and physics content in year 12, however this qualification allows optional units in year 13, which shifts the focus towards the growing, and increasingly popular field of biomedical sciences.

This course is popular with students taking a range of subjects but particularly complements psychology, health and social care and physical education. We have had many students successfully secure nursing and midwifery degrees, veterinary nursing and other biomedical courses. The UCAS points it attracts has allowed others to pursue a variety of degree courses of their choosing.

This course has a large practical element, allowing students to develop technical skills such as sterile techniques and growing microbes. The coursework elements allow students to improve time management, organisation, research skills and independent learning which also prepares them well for future employment or further study.

Course units:
The course consists of six equal units. Three core units are undertaken in year 12. Unit 1: Key concepts in Science (includes biology, chemistry and physics content) Unit 2: Applied experimental techniques Unit 3: Science in the modern world Three further units are undertaken in year 13 and are all biology based. Unit 4: The human body Unit 5: Investigating science (a full scientific report on a topic of choice) Unit 6: Microbiology

Unit 1 – exam
Unit 2 – practical portfolio, internally assessed
Unit 3 – pre-release, exam
Unit 4 – exam
Unit 5 – portfolio, internally assessed
Unit 6 – portfolio, internally assessed

50% external exam, 50% portfolio (internal, moderated).

The exam units can be entered in June of year 12 (Unit 1 and 3) and Jan/June of year 13 (Unit 4) and remain modular. One resit of each unit is possible, with the best mark used.

Students can achieve Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction* levels and are awarded UCAS points in-line with A-level.

Scroll to Top